Home Home

Products

Dispersive Mixing

Dispersive mixing means breaking down and then dispersing particles. In order to break down a particle, its surface must first be wetted to enable forces that split the particles to be transferred. The dispersing of particles/drops in a simple shear flow is possible up to a certain ratio of the viscosity of drop/matrix. In most compounding processes of polymer alloys this is the limiting factor regarding dispersion quality which can be achieved.

It is possible to show that elongation flows are better suited to this than shear flows. Everything is made more difficult if the particles have elastic properties, e.g. in the case of rubber-type materials.

The RingExtruder is good at generating the required forms of flow due to its basic design. Elongational flow is generated in the apex of a co-rotating screw system. In a FEM-simulation its shown that in the apex a high axial velocity is generated(red color). This high axial velocity is caused by the compression of the melt volume which results in high normal forces applied to the melt. High normal forces cause a high elongational flow and therefore an excellent dispersion.
The large volume of its intermeshing section in particular forms the basis for excellent dispersion capabilities.

Home Home

Produkte

Dispersives Mischen

Unter dispersivem Mischen versteht man das Zerteilen und anschließende Verteilen von Partikeln. Um einen Partikel zerteilen zu können, muss dessen Oberflächen erst benetzt werden um dann Kräfte übertragen zu können die den Partikel teilen. Dieses zerteilen der Partikel/Tropfen ist in einfachen Scherströmungen nur bis zu einem gewissen Viskositätsverhältnis möglich und stellt bei herkömmlichen Prozessen die am meisten verbreitete Limitierung in Bezug auf die Dispergierqualität dar.

Man kann zeigen, dass zum dispersiven mischen, Dehnströmungen besser geeignet sind als Scherströmungen. Erschwert wird das Ganze noch, wenn die Partikel/Tropfen elastische Eigenschaften aufweisen wie z.B. bei gummiartigen Stoffen.

Der RingExtruder kann Dehnströmungen bauartbedingt besonders gut erzeugen. Dehnströmungen werden zum größten Teil im Zwickelbereich generiert. In nebenstehender Simulation ist dies deutlich über den hohen Wert der Axialgeschwindigkeit im Zwickelbereich (rote Flächen) zu sehen. Die hohe Axialgeschwindigkeit wird durch die Kompression des Schmelzevolumens im Zwickelbereich verursacht und bewirkt eine Belastung durch hohe Normalspannungen.

Der RingExtruder schafft somit durch sein großes Zwickelvolumen die Grundlage für überragende Dispergierleistungen.